接受免疫球蛋白家庭输液的 Option Care 患者得益于更好的疗效、更低的成本

提供
新闻

圣安东尼奥本周美国过敏、哮喘和免疫学会 (ACAAI) 科学年会上发表的一项首创研究显示,与其他接受治疗的患者相比,在家中接受免疫球蛋白 (IG) 治疗且受到高水平临床监督的患者疗效更好。研究人员评估了来自 Option Care 的数据,并将其与大型国家数据库进行了比较,他们还发现治疗的成本较低。1

作为全美最大的家庭和备选医疗站点输液服务提供者之一,Option Care 向接受复杂病况治疗的患者(包括接受免疫球蛋白治疗的患者)提供高品质、高接触的临床支持。Option Care 的独特治疗模式结合了当地提供的护理和国家管理的治疗方案和疗效数据收集。经过专门培训的输液护士和药剂师在家中提供个性化、专业的 IG 治疗和患者教育。由 IG 专家组成的专门团队收集并与患者范围更广的医疗保健团队分享患者报告疗效 – 一种获取患者体验的科学方法 – 从而使每个人都能对患者的健康状况达成共识并优化治疗计划。

“我们进行这项研究是为了验证这样一种假设,即在家中接受更高水平临床护理的患者最终会得到更好的疗效,”该研究的首席研究人员、休斯顿贝勒医学院 (Baylor College of Medicine) 的儿科及免疫学教授医学博士 Jordan Orange 称。“我们发现,在患者自己的家中接受全面而持续的护理确实会带来更好的疗效。另一项好处是,它实际上更具有成本效益。“

IG 疗法的提供对象是免疫系统疾病患者,如免疫缺陷或自身免疫性疾病(包括某些神经肌肉疾病)患者。治疗的护理地点可以是医院住院部、医院门诊输液中心、医生办公室、社区输液中心或家中。

在一项从 2011 年 8 月 1 日至 2014 年 6 月 30 日的回顾性研究中,Orange 博士和他的同事评估了接受家庭 IG 疗法的 Option Care 患者与一个大型国家行政索赔数据库 (IMS Pharmetrics Plus) 中所包含对照组患者的疗效对比。患者以两种方式之一接受治疗:直接注射到血液中的静脉 IG (IVIG) 和注射到第一层皮肤下方的皮下 IG (SCIG)。研究人员将每名 Option Care 患者与数据库中的四名患者进行配对:227 名 Option Care IVIG 患者与 908 名对照组患者相比较,59 名 Option Care SCIG 患者与 236 名对照组患者相比较。研究人员发现:

  • 与对照组 IVIG 患者(每名患者每年 0.29 次)相比,Option Care IVIG 患者(每名患者每年 0.16 次)的严重细菌感染次数较低。1
  • 与 SCIG 对照组患者(每名患者每年 0.34 次)相比,Option Care SCIG 患者(每名患者每年 0.08 次)的严重不良事件(肾脏损害、肝炎、过敏性和无菌性脑膜炎)次数较低。1
  • 与对照组相比,Option Care IVIG 患者的总体成本较低(每名患者每年 112,756 美元,对照组则为 120,567 美元)。1

”为我们的所有患者提供高品质的护理是我们的首要任务。我们相信我们的高接触护理模式有益于患者,我们很高兴这项 IG 数据证明了这一点。“Option Care 首席执行官 Paul Mastrapa 说道。”这项研究表明,我们的患者不仅重视在家中接受护理的生活便利质量,而且也在以更低的成本获得最优质的护理。“

关于美国过敏、哮喘和免疫学会 (ACAAI)

ACAAI 是一家专业的医疗机构,拥有 6000 多名过敏症专科医生和免疫科医生以及相关的保健专业医生,总部设在伊利诺伊州阿灵顿高地。该学会培育了一种协作和融洽的文化,在这种文化中,其成员共同努力,并与其他成员一起努力实现患者护理、教育、宣传和研究的共同目标。ACAAI 过敏症专科医生是经过委员会认证的医生,训练有素,负责诊断过敏和哮喘,进行免疫治疗,并为患者提供最佳治疗结果。要了解更多信息和寻求救济,请访问 www.AllergyandAsthmaRelief.org

关于 Option Care

Option Care Enterprises, Inc.(前身为 Walgreens Infusion Services)由经过专门培训的输液护士、药剂师和营养师提供高品质的临床护理,医治各式急性、慢性和罕见疾病的患者。作为全美最大的家庭和备选医疗站点输液服务提供者之一,Option Care 在美国各地拥有 92 家输液药房和 110 个备选医疗站点。有关详情请访问 www.OptionCare.com。 

# # #

1 Orange J、Kirkham H、Ayer G 等人著作。通过专业药房或家庭输液服务来改善接受免疫球蛋白治疗的患者的临床疗效。论文发表于美国过敏、哮喘与免疫学院 (ACAAI) 2015 年科学年会:2015 年 11 月 5-9 日;圣安东尼奥。

 

媒体联系人信息

Option Care
Lauren Kotarski
312-558-1770
LKotarski@pcipr.com

Option Care Patients Receiving Home Infusion of Immunoglobulin Benefit from Better Outcomes, Lower Costs

SAN ANTONIOOption Care patients treated with immunoglobulin (IG) therapy at home with a high level of clinical oversight had better outcomes compared to others receiving the therapy according to a first-of-its-kind study presented at the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI) Annual Scientific Meeting this week. The researchers, who evaluated data from Option Care as compared to a large national database, also determined that the cost of therapy was lower. 1

One of the nation’s largest providers of home and alternate treatment site infusion services, Option Care provides high-quality, high-touch clinical support to patients undergoing treatment for complex conditions, including those receiving IG. Option Care’s unique treatment model combines locally delivered care with nationally managed treatment protocols and outcomes data collection. Specially trained infusion nurses and pharmacists provide individualized, expert IG treatment and patient education in the home. Patient-reported outcome measures – a scientific way of capturing patient experience – are collected by a dedicated team of IG experts and shared with patient’s broader health care team to keep everyone on the same page about the patient’s health status and to optimize the treatment plan.

“We conducted this research to test the hypothesis that patients who receive higher levels of clinical care in the home end up having better outcomes,” said Jordan Orange, M.D., Ph.D., lead investigator of the study and professor of pediatrics and immunology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. “We found that the provision of comprehensive and consistent care in a patient’s own home does indeed lead to better outcomes. And an added benefit was that it was actually more cost effective.”

IG therapy is provided to patients who have disorders of the immune system such as immune deficiencies or autoimmune diseases, including some neuromuscular disorders. The site of care for the treatment may be the hospital inpatient setting, a hospital outpatient infusion center, a physician’s office, a community infusion center or at home.

In the retrospective study from Aug. 1, 2011 to June 30, 2014, Dr. Orange and his colleagues assessed outcomes of Option Care patients receiving in-home IG therapy in comparison with control patients included in a large national administrative claims database (IMS Pharmetrics Plus). Patients received therapy one of two ways: intravenous IG (IVIG) in which it is injected directly into the bloodstream, and subcutaneous IG (SCIG), in which the therapy is injected just beneath the first layer of skin. Researchers matched each Option Care patient to four patients in the database: 227 Option Care IVIG patients were compared to 908 controls, and 59 Option Care SCIG patients were compared to 236 controls. Researchers found:

  • Serious bacterial infections were lower in Option Care IVIG patients (.16 per patient per year) compared to control IVIG patients (.29 per patient per year). 1
  • Serious adverse events (renal impairment, hepatitis, anaphylaxis and aseptic meningitis) were lower in Option Care SCIG patients (.08 per patient per year) compared to SCIG control patients (.34 per patient per year). 1
  • Costs were lower overall for Option Care IVIG patients compared to controls ($112,756 vs. $120,567 per patient per year). 1

“Delivering high quality care for all of our patients is our top priority. We believe that our high-touch care model benefits patients, and we are pleased that this IG data bears that out,” said Paul Mastrapa, CEO of Option Care. “Not only do our patients appreciate the quality of life benefits of receiving care in the home, this research shows they also are getting the best quality care at a lower cost.”

About the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI)

The ACAAI is a professional medical organization of more than 6,000 allergists-immunologists and allied health professionals, headquartered in Arlington Heights, Ill. The College fosters a culture of collaboration and congeniality in which its members work together and with others toward the common goals of patient care, education, advocacy and research. ACAAI allergists are board-certified physicians trained to diagnose allergies and asthma, administer immunotherapy, and provide patients with the best treatment outcomes. For more information and to find relief, visit www.AllergyandAsthmaRelief.org.

About Option Care

Option Care Enterprises, Inc., formerly Walgreens Infusion Services, Inc., offers high quality clinical care provided by specially trained infusion nurses, pharmacists and dietitians who treat patients with a wide range of acute, chronic and rare conditions. As one of the nation’s largest providers of home and alternate treatment site infusion services, Option Care has 92 infusion pharmacies and 110 alternate treatment sites across the country. Learn more at www.OptionCare.com.  

# # #

1 Orange J, Kirkham H, Ayer G, et al. Improved clinical outcomes for patients receiving immunoglobulin therapy through specialty pharmacy or home infusion services. Paper presented at the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI) 2015 Annual Scientific Meeting: Nov 5-9, 2015; San Antonio.

 

Media Contact Information

Option Care
Lauren Kotarski
312-558-1770
LKotarski@pcipr.com